This Week’s Theme: Anxious, Sad And Distracted

I still can’t leave the house. I feel sad sometimes. I wrote more haikus. I hope you enjoy them.

Image Credit: Pexels.com (JACK REDGATE)
After seven weeks
indoors, I miss the small things...
Like muddy puddles.

Recently I’ve become nostalgic for the most mundane things. Remaining indoors means I am missing out on the little inconveniences of outdoor life. Like accidentally stepping into a puddle, or bumping into people inside a department store, or walking through the cloud of another pedestrian’s cigarette smoke.

Photo Credit: Ibadah Mimpi
Everyone’s indoors.
Whew! Now no one will see my
DIY haircut.
Photo Credit: Pexels.com (Tim Savage)
I miss the subway.
Leering men, gum on the seats…
Ah, sweet memories
Graphic Credit: Canva.com
I still shave my legs. 
I revel in their smoothness.
Silky, brown, and warm.
Photo Credit: Pexels.com (Kristin De Soto)
How will I explain
COVID-19 to my kids
if I have any?

I’m 98% certain that I will never have children. But I think it’s important that we not let future generations forget about COVID-19. My parents told me stories about the adversities they faced so I would know it is possible to survive and move forward.

Photo Credit: Pexels.com (Jhefferson Santos)
Is it possible
to be morbidly obsessed
with reading the news?
Photo Credit: Pexels.com (Dids)
Capitalism:
One economy is worth
thousands of lost lives.

In college I had some SJW friends who would go on and on about how much they despised capitalism. I used to nod along, but secretly I thought, You’re overreacting. Sure capitalism isn’t perfect, but it’s not evil. It has taken me until recently to realize the toxicity in our capitalist system.

Why is it that hair salon, bowling alley, and restaurant employees are feeling pressured to return to work or lose their livelihood, while my peers and I work from home? How can some politicians and radio personalities conscionably tell American workers who most need federal aid to defy stay-at-home orders, to risk their health to keep the economy alive? In our capitalist system, the economy seems to hold more value than human life.

Photo Credit: Pexels.com (Jolo Diaz)
Baby sea turtles
emerge from sands hushed by the 
dearth of human feet.

While Thailand beaches are closed to tourists, baby leatherback sea turtles are thriving. I hope that, after this is over and we can safely leave our homes again, we could find a way to coexist with nature. So that we can preserve the sea turtles in Phuket, the dolphins in Venice, and the goats in Llandudno.

Leave a comment