What can I write about the murder of Ahmaud Arbery that hasn’t been written already about the many other African Americans who have lost their lives far too soon to racist violence?

I could pen a lament that little has changed–in regards to the prevalence of racist violence against young Black men and boys–since the lynching of Emmett Till, a 14-year-old Black boy who was killed for allegedly flirting with a white woman.

I could write an analytical essay about America’s refusal to enact stricter gun control despite the tens of thousands of innocent lives lost each year to ignorant citizens with guns in their hands and sick ideas in their minds.

Should I write about Ahmaud Arbery’s family, who for two months had to live with the knowledge that their son’s killers were free, living normal lives, and facing no legal consequences for taking a human life?

Should I write an op-ed about how this is why the Black Lives Matter movement exists?

Or should I publish a rant about how a video recording of the murder had to go viral before Georgia police arrested the gunmen?

There are so many things I want to write about what happened to Ahmaud Arbery, that I don’t know where to start. This has happened so many times. It feels like nothing is going to change. I don’t know what to write about Ahmaud Arbery.

Leave a comment